Plans, and music

January 2, 2021 § Leave a comment

I can imagine what you’re thinking: “We’re hardly into the new year and already he’s posting. Hopefully he’ll get back to some serious walking rather than all that strange stuff he gave us last year.”

No such luck. There’s probably going to be a mixture of types of post – I write ‘probably’ because I can’t ever say what’s coming up next in this blog. (You didn’t really think this blog was planned, did you? More fool you!) The posts directly related to walks and walking will likely be limited in number. This is because (1) it’s winter time for the next two months, with snow and ice up on the Schwarzwald, (2) there are movement and accommodation restrictions in most of the areas I would like to walk in, and (3) the rebuilding work on our house is scheduled to start in mid-June, therefore I will have to be here at home for most of the summer and autumn. But keep the faith! Walking is not over – at least I hope not. (Oh, and there are of course more Strider articles sitting in the editor’s inbox.)

As to ‘that strange stuff’ – that’s certainly going to be continued. First there’ll be another visit to Monte Carlo; then some more about the meaning of average (pun intended); then a look at some of those other points in theendtoendblog’s ‘Ten Point Guide to Safe Modelling’; then… That should take me through ‘til March, which will mark the anniversary of a year’s rather special wandering. I’ve got a feeling this wandering will have been worth it. Once more, keep the faith!

Now to the promised music, to a link that Gisela sent me on Christmas Day. It’s a new recording of the Hallelujah Chorus, sung (remotely) by 350 voices and set in that most magnificent of Barcelona churches – Santa Maria del Mar. To see and hear this makes my heart soar.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXFhkmyVRgM

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Plans, and music at End to End.

meta