R.I.P. Kenny Rogers

March 21, 2020 § Leave a comment

This blog has now been running for just over five years. As I was getting it going I listed various items I would be taking with me on my walks and others I wouldn’t. Among the latter was a set of headphones. My justification then – and I still subscribe to it – was that I didn’t want to be cutting myself off from all those wonderful natural sounds that are around on every walk. I didn’t want to be trapped in my own little world, of music (even great music) or whatever.

I’m human of course, which means that music is inevitably a part of my life. Sometimes I wake with a song in my mind and find it trapped there for the whole day; sometimes there is something in the day that brings a particular piece of music into it – Nimrod, for example, as I climbed up Whitestonecliffe; sometimes the music simply happens.

Kenny Rogers has just died. The short obituary on the Welt website (https://www.welt.de/kultur/article206695453/Zum-Tod-von-Kenny-Rogers-Die-Wahrheit-seiner-Songs-war-den-meisten-Deutschen-zu-viel.html) puts things perfectly: “Kenny Rogers war der Country-Sänger, der so schonungslos wie keiner mit dem Leben abrechnen konnte.” I’ll leave the translation to you!

“Ein Mann sitzt zu Hause im Rollstuhl. Aus dem verrückten Krieg in Korea oder Vietnam oder wo auch immer ist er als Krüppel heimgekehrt. Und nun hört er, wie seine Frau sich hübsch macht. Ihre hohen Hacken klappern auf der Holztreppe draußen. Weg ist sie. Und der Mann, der natürlich versteht, dass seine junge, hübsche Frau mit ihrer Liebe irgendwo hinmuss, wird von mörderischem Hass auf sie verzehrt. Käme er bloß an seine Pistole, er würde sie erschießen: ‘Ruby, Don’t Take Your Love To Town’.”

That’s some of my music.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/n4ek1ciq83eefs2/Hakan%20Akkaya%20FW%202014.mp4?dl=0

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading R.I.P. Kenny Rogers at End to End.

meta