A mixture of everything ***with track***

May 27, 2019 § Leave a comment

I woke this morning (Sunday) to the sound of rain on the bunkhouse roof. Not the most promising of starts to a day, especially as it seemed to confirm the forecast I’d seen before going to bed. My spirits sank. I shaved and dressed and went over the road to get some breakfast materials from the shop. Strange, but now it was only drizzling. And wasn’t that a patch of blue sky I could see? My spirits rose. That was the weather story for the whole day – sometimes wet, sometimes dry, sometimes cloudy, sometimes sunny, sometimes cool, sometimes warm, sometimes with barely a breeze, sometimes with half a gale blowing. A real mixture.

The route for the day took me first into Richmond, passing the ruins of Easby Abbey on the way, then along part of the C2C to Marske, then northwards on the interestingly named Cordilleras Lane past a military firing range, then actually through a part of that range along some scarcely navigable public footpaths, then across grouse moor, then through farming land down to the River Greta, then finally along roads to my B&B in Barnard Castle. Another real mixture.

For most of the time I was by myself, apart of course from the wildlife. For one section, however, I had the delightful company of Nicole, a mathematician from California who generously refrained from discussing representation theory with me. I also got comments on the relative merits of the C2C and the Pennine Way, this time from two obviously experienced walkers. Again a real mixture.

Finally into Barnard Castle. Phew!

Above the Swale, between Richmond and Marske

Woodland at the start of the climb up Cordilleras Lane

A military range, and where’s the public footpath?

Brompton-on-Swale to Barnard Castle

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading A mixture of everything ***with track*** at End to End.

meta