The very necessary rain ***with track***

May 8, 2019 § Leave a comment

I woke this morning to find it raining – and I almost screamed with pleasure. It’s not often that rain makes this walker happy, believe me, but this time it did. The reason is that the fields are crying out for water. The earth is as hard as concrete.

Steve picked me up in college and drove me back to Shepreth. From there it was a straightforward walk through Barrington and Haslingfield to Grantchester, then along the river bank to Cambridge.

What a change from yesterday! Firstly, today’s walk was very much shorter; secondly, I was carrying only a day pack; thirdly, the paths were already softened by the rain and therefore far more comfortable. There was even a perfectly placed village store that provided me with a mug of coffee exactly when I needed one. The only thing I didn’t get right was my arrival in Grantchester. “Yet stands the church clock at twenty four minutes to one?” It doesn’t really scan, does it?

Yet stands the church clock…

The Cam at Grantchester Meadows.

Shepreth to Cambridge

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The very necessary rain ***with track*** at End to End.

meta