The ‘rest’ day ***with track***

May 11, 2018 § Leave a comment

The walker is exactly half way through the Corner-to-Corner plan. Seventeen walking days over; seventeen walking days ahead. A proper rest day is certainly appropriate. But what’s this? He’s evidently still been out walking today! Can’t he stop?

Yes, I admit it!

What I did today was cut about nine kilometres off what otherwise would have been an appallingly long tomorrow. I walked from Whaley Bridge to Thornsett then got the bus back. Tomorrow I’ll bus out to Thornsett then start from there.

Actually that’s not strictly true. Yes, I did walk to Thornsett, but I then made a detour to see the Mass Trespass site at Hayfield – I blogged about this a few months ago. It was thus from Hayfield that I bussed back to Whaley Bridge.

The site at Hayfield has an impressive bronze plaque. The bakery in Whaley Bridge has an equally impressive notice board.

Bowden Bridge Quarry. Start point for the 1932 Mass Trespass.

False advertising indeed!

Whaley Bridge to Thornsett

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The ‘rest’ day ***with track*** at End to End.

meta